Gluten Free Appetizers
If you are having a party there is no reason that you cannot indulge in the appetizers that you have created for your other guests, as there are many great tasting appetizers you can fix. Gluten is the protein found in spelt, barley, and wheat, which people who have celiac disease cannot tolerate. These appetizers are naturally gluten-free. One example of a gluten free appetizer is a mini-egg frittatas that are made with minced vegetables, bacon bits, and cheese. When you use crackers to put appetizers on read the ingredients to make sure that they are made using rice flour. These crackers can be wheat or cheese flavored. Before making the appetizers, use a recipe book that contains only gluten free recipes because with other recipes you will have to read them carefully to make sure that they do not contain ingredients like wheat.
Fruit and cheese plate
This is a simple appetizer and can be served with a fruit dip that is cream cheese based to add a little more sweetness to the fruit appetizers. It is best that you make your own because the ones in the store could contain ingredients that are wheat-based. You could also make a caramel-based fruit dip but do not buy it in the store ready-made because the caramel color could be wheat based. Homemade caramel is gluten free naturally.
Other simple gluten free appetizers
• Shrimp with homemade cocktail sauce of horseradish and ketchup
• Tortilla chips with fresh guacamole and tomato salsa
• Vegetable sticks with hummus
• Asparagus spears that are wrapped in prosciutto, which is a thinly sliced, uncooked Italian dry-cured ham. All you need to do is warm it in the oven.
• For a spicy appetizer make buffalo chicken wings with a hot sauce dip you make yourself
• Using slice turkey and cream cheese, put them on a romaine lettuce left and make roll-offs. If they are too big you can cut them in two or three pieces and secure them using toothpicks
• Cheese and dips served with bread
• Brie cheese on baguette slices that are toasted
Appetizer ingredients to avoid
Some ingredients should be avoided when making appetizers that are gluten free because they can be manufactured with wheat.
• Barbeque and Worcestershire sauce because of the caramel coloring
• Soy sauce unless it is certified as being one
One important thing to note is that if you decide to make appetizers that are not gluten free and some that are, do not use the same utensils for both appetizers because there is a risk of cross-contamination. To help avoid this make the gluten free appetizers first and mark them as such.
If you are someone who is looking for the gluten free restaurants in San Diego then I recommend that you visit 2Good2B Bakery. This San Diego gluten free bakery is much appreciated for the variety of food it serves.
2Good2B® is your source for Gluten, Corn and Soy Free foods that help you feel and live your absolute best. Experience a renewed and improved level of energy, vitality, and happiness!
Article Source: https://EzineArticles.com/expert/Lora_Davis/2146280