Oct. 9 (UPI) — A trio of American and Japanese scientists won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry Wednesday for their work in developing lithium-ion batteries.

John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino were announced as the winners of the 2019 prize in Stockholm.

Goodenough is a researcher at the University of Texas, Austin, Whittingham at New York’s Binghamton University and Yoshino at Meijo University in Nagoya, Japan.

This is a developing story

Categories: Wired